The Moment I Knew I Wanted to Be A Teacher

So I thought it would be fun to write about the moment I realized I wanted to be a teacher. Being a teacher is something that I truly believe is a calling. I believe that calling is something that you’re born with, and while some of us realize we want to be teachers sooner than others, we were all born with the same calling in life.

I knew I wanted to be a teacher at the age of 9. I was in 4th grade, and I loved my 4th grade teacher. She was really awesome! I know it sounds cliche, but she really made learning fun for me. Before 4th grade, I enjoyed going to school, but I didn’t really have fun learning. I remember thinking that I wanted to be just like her when I grew up. I even remember asking her how long I would have to go to school to be a teacher.

If you talked to my grandma though, she would tell you that I wanted to be a teacher before 4th grade. I don’t really remember doing this, but when I graduated high school and told everyone that I was going to major in elementary education, she told me how she would often find me trying to teach my sister and various dolls and stuffed animals before I even started going to school. She said that when my cousins would come over, I would make them all play school, and I wouldn’t let anyone else be the teacher. I would always have to be the teacher.

Growing up, I think other kids, including my own sister, thought I was a little strange because I would get excited when it was time to go and pick out new school supplies. To this day I get so excited when I buy some new colored pens, or post it notes (and now you’re probably thinking I’m a werido too). I can honestly say that I don’t feel so strange anymore because I’ve learned it’s a teacher thing. Colored pens, cute post it notes, and children’s books are my jam, and I’m not ashamed to admit it!

Leave a Reply

