It’s Not An Easy Choice

So today I was organizing some of my school stuff and I came across my bachelors  degree diploma. As I was looking at it, I was remembering everything I had to go through in order to get that degree. There were a lot of people that told me it wouldn’t happen, but through it all I never gave up, and I graduated with a 4.0 GPA. There’s much more to the story than what I’m sharing right now, but here’s my point..

Looking at that diploma, the very human side of me wants to go up to the same people who said I would never graduate and hold up that diploma and say, “IN YOUR FACE!” Doing that, however wouldn’t accomplish anything. So, instead of doing that, I’m going to choose to be a good teacher. I’m going to choose to ENCOURAGE instead of discourage. I’m going to choose to believe in my students, that no matter what, they can accomplish whatever goal they set out to do, no matter how hard or simple it may be. 

That is how I’m choosing to live my life. Instead of choosing revenge or to get angry, I’m choosing to use that as motivation to not be that person that makes negative comments to others. I’m choosing to forgive and show kindness, because even though those people don’t deserve my forgiveness or my kindness, I’m choosing to do it anyway. I, in no way, shape, or form, deserve God’s kindness or forgiveness, but He gives it to me freely anyway, despite my sins or what I’ve done in the past. I could never earn it, but He chooses to give it to me anyway. 

It’s not an easy choice to choose to be kind or to forgive sometimes. It can be really hard to do. Like I said, the very human (and somewhat competitive) side of me wanted to go up to every single person and show them that they were wrong, but when I asked God to come into my heart, He not only did that, but He began to transform my heart and my life to look more like Him. Galatians‬ ‭2:20 says, “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” That’s what happens when we truly lay down our own hearts and selfish desires and we choose to be more like Christ.

Leave a Reply

