You Won’t Sink

My last post I wrote about that God has been prompting me to give Him my dreams, and in exchange He will refine them and give me even better dreams because they’re His dreams for me. A few days ago I felt the Lord prompting me to step out of my comfort zone and into a place I have never been before, literally. I have been feeling like He wants me to move to a place that’s not Missouri. This is a really big deal for me because I’ve only ever lived in Missouri. It’s where I was born, it’s where my family is, but if this is part of God’s plan for my life, then I’m not going to question Him, but trust that He’s going to begin to put the pieces together for me. 

A few months back, I was reading and studying the book of Ruth, and that is the story that God brought to my mind and heart when I felt He was leading me to step out into this new adventure. Ruth left the only home she had ever known to go to a place she had not ever been before. It would have been really easy for her to listen to her mother-in-law and go back to her family, but she chose to go anyway. I’m sure she felt scared and unsure of what she had just gotten herself into. I’m sure there were times when she questioned her choice to go, but she never turned back, she continued on her journey and God blessed her for it.

I do not consider myself in any way to be a modern day Ruth. She is one of my biggest heros in the Bible, and I don’t think I can ever be as amazing as her, but what I can do is choose to obey God and go where He leads me. I may not have all the answers yet, but I trust God with everything I have and everything I am. 

I’m going to be taking this giant leap of faith, and I’m not exactly sure what’s going to happen, but no matter what, I know that it’s going to be good, because God has nothing but good things for me. He wants to lead me where He wants me to be, and He wants that for you too. You just have to trust Him as He leads you across the waters, like Peter. 

In Matthew 14, when Peter started to doubt, he started to sink, but Jesus took his hand and pulled him up out of the water. I’ve often wondered if maybe Jesus thought to himself, “Peter, if you would only keep your eyes on Me, I won’t ever let you sink.” I think that’s what He’s telling all of us. If we would only keep our eyes on Him and not worry or get scared by the things going on around us, He won’t ever let us sink. We might get a little wet, but we won’t ever sink. 

Leave a Reply

